Black + White Portrait Step 3: Final Product

Screen Shot 2017-04-07 at 9.43.32 AM

Step 3 was to smooth out our image from step 2.

At first I was certain that I was going to prefer the geometric look of step 2, more so than I was going to enjoy the smoother look, but I was wrong. Although step 2 does have it’s pro’s, as I explained in that post, I like this better as it is more smooth, and pleasing to the eye. It makes the image easier to look at, and lets the view’s eyes glide across the image, rather than in sharp movements.

I faced quite a few challenges with this step, mostly because I was unfamiliar with the program Adobe Illustrator, only having used it for typography before. I found the tool we were originally taught to use, only worked well for some areas, so I had to play around with the program and ask a friend for some tips before I got the hang of it.

I mainly used the pen tool for rounding out my edges, by not fully enclosing the points, but instead clicking and dragging to round them out, connecting them after they had been rounded. 

Leave a Reply

